top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrent Nevy

I knew I could not swim.

Updated: Feb 26, 2018

The sea was cold; mildly cold. It wasn't really that cold, but nonetheless I embellish. The irascible waves terrified no person upon my boat, and the clouds above proved themselves as passive bystanders. The sails, docile in their vibrations, were commanded by an earnest captain fully capable of leading the expedition, an expedition of happy-go-lucky tourists much like myself. Nothing of these people matters to me, and the inanimate ship provided not much else to observe. What else but to enjoy the droll around me, I thought. A large lagoon, whose passivity was owed to some dunes a few miles off of the coast. I knew I could not swim, but still I yearned to be embraced within the blue expanse. To be embraced without any air? Wouldn't I die, suffocated and drowned by this pool's contents? I would indeed, for a fish I am not.


There was not an air of mystery anymore upon the boat; no fog, nothing but a clear, sunny day 'pon the sea. All of the water in which the boat was travelling through had been charted long ago and oft since. There was little chatter besides mundane filler between the persons upon the boat. A jarring static noise popped into my ears, and it entertained me for a while as it lasted. If I could swim off of this vessel onto a more comfortable shore, the sandbanks or the rocky coast, I'm inclined to think I would. Perhaps I would tire on the journey, but I'm only getting more tired here. What a bore!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Skimming the Peripheries

Alone in the clouds all blue I found him, peering outward onto the cosmic airs around him. A spectrum of colours bubbled forth from every direction, and he looked up and down and around, as mesmerise

Alphabet (& Retro) Tale

Amongst the soils of sand upon a large island was a simple rod of iron. Brittle and amorphous, it had little chance of being used for anything, right? Creeping under the waters by the cove was a hunk

bottom of page