top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrent Nevy

Miscellaneous Poems

Updated: Apr 11, 2018


A Flagship

Burrowed in the fleet’s harbour,

The flagship stirs.

Gliding ‘side leaves of arbour,

The sails pretend.

Mucky as the barges live,

Their paths oft slur.

But sturdy leader outlive,

The sea’s its friend.

Time will prove a sordid gift,

To the flagship.

Wood will rot turn cracks to rifts,

The boat may release its grip, now.


Cavalcade's Embrace

I saw afar a crowd amok,

Their chants pronounced in sunny sky.

Within them many chords were struck,

Today may their jubilance fly.

The victors come to love the commons they made proud.

The sparrows, warblers, doves chirp in the trumpets’ cloud.

As failure prevailed and we magnified our woes,

Their skilled techniques and clever thoughts reversed our blows.

So they deserve the embrace of a cavalcade;

and require our nation's sincerest serenade.

Riding upon their gilded chariot,

God bless these greatest laureates!


May I Write a Bit More?

Tonight has made good repose,

Abscond to bed for soft sleep.

I look to my davenport,

To greet my incessant sport.

Grandeur and penury compared,

Opposites’ essences shared.

But there’s nothing to start,

No reserves to come to the lines.

My pen dissolves its parts and melts ideas to grime.

Docile paper, make your move!

Only I can drive and reprove.

But just what have I to prove?

Whining lamp by my forehead,

Looking back upon my bed.

Vision closing for the night,

Just a nap will do alright.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Skimming the Peripheries

Alone in the clouds all blue I found him, peering outward onto the cosmic airs around him. A spectrum of colours bubbled forth from every direction, and he looked up and down and around, as mesmerise

Alphabet (& Retro) Tale

Amongst the soils of sand upon a large island was a simple rod of iron. Brittle and amorphous, it had little chance of being used for anything, right? Creeping under the waters by the cove was a hunk

bottom of page